Resource Exchange


Leading Change Journalism Bursary 2017

Ana Isabel Paraguay
Posted November 9, 2016 from Brazil
Expired on November 21, 2016

The Queen’s Young Leaders is seeking applications for its “Leading Change Journalism Bursary” to offer young people across the Commonwealth the chance to develop journalism skills while building a portfolio of work.

Working to agreed deadlines and briefs, winners will be required to produce three pieces of previously unpublished web content for the Leading Change website during 2017.

Content should be about inspiring leadership, individuals and projects, that create positive change. It should appeal to young people around the Commonwealth, who lead projects and organisations to improve our world.


A bursary of £700 will be awarded to one young person aged 18-30 in each of the five Commonwealth regions – Africa, Asia, Canada and Europe, Caribbean and Americas, and the Pacific.

Eligibility Criteria

Applications are welcome from writers, photographers, film-makers, radio journalists and other content producers who live in Commonwealth countries.

How to Apply

In order to apply, Applicants need to: ◾Provide up to three samples of work in English either as links, pdfs or Word docs. ◾Supply a short biography of up to 200 words, outlining relevant experience – paid or unpaid – as a content producer (for example, writer, photographer, film-maker, radio journalist). Also, wish to include information that demonstrates your knowledge of young leaders in the Commonwealth. ◾Write brief proposals – in up to 600 words – for three pieces of content for Leading Change. This should include the projects, issues, people and places you’d like to cover. ◾Add relevant web links, such as LinkedIn, blogs and websites.

Applications must be submitted online via given website. Deadline: 21 November 2016. Eligible Countries: Botswana, Cameroon, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Uganda, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, Bangladesh, Brunei Darussalam, India, Malaysia, Pakistan, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Canada, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Jamaica, Saint Lucia, St Kitts and Nevis, St Vincent and The Grenadines, Trinidad and Tobago, Cyprus, Malta, United Kingdom, Australia, Fiji, Kiribati, Nauru, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu.

For more information, please visit

Comments 0

Log in or register to post comments