Resource Exchange


Live Your Dream Awards (Soroptimist Grants for Women)

Ana Isabel Paraguay
Posted November 11, 2016 from Brazil
Expired on November 15, 2016

The Soroptimist Live Your Dream Awards assists women who provide the primary source of financial support for their families by giving them the resources they need to improve their education, skills and employment prospects.

Each year, more than $1.6 million in education grants are awarded to more than 1,200 women, many of whom have overcome enormous obstacles including poverty, domestic violence and/or drug and alcohol abuse. Live Your Dream Awards recipients may use the cash award to offset any costs associated with their efforts to attain higher education, such as books, childcare, tuition and transportation.

Since the Live Your Dream Awards program began in 1972, about $30 million in education grants have been disbursed to assist tens of thousands of women achieve their dreams of a better life for themselves and their families

Awards Information

The award involves three levels of cash awards: ◾Local-level award recipients become eligible for region-level awards of either $3,000 or $5,000. ◾Region-level award recipients then become eligible to receive one of three international-level awards of $10,000.

Eligibility Criteria

The woman eligible to apply for the award is the one who: ◾Provides the primary financial support for yourself and your dependents. Dependents can include children, spouse, partner, siblings and/or parents. ◾Has financial need. ◾Is enrolled in or has been accepted to a vocational/skills training program or an undergraduate degree program. ◾Is motivated to achieve your education and career goals. ◾Resides in one of Soroptimist International of the Americas’ member countries/territories (mentioned below). ◾Has not previously been the recipient of a Soroptimist Women’s Opportunity or Live Your Dream Award. ◾Does not have a graduate degree. ◾Is not a Soroptimist member, an employee of Soroptimist International of the Americas or immediate family of either. ◾Has a Social Security number or Tax ID number.

How to Apply

Interested applicants can apply via given website.

Deadline: 15 November 2016.

Eligible Countries: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Guam, Japan, Korea, Mexico, Northern Mariana Islands, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Puerto Rico, Taiwan, United States of America, Venezuela.

For more information, please visit

Comments 0

Log in or register to post comments