Resource Exchange


Urgent Action Fund Africa: Rapid Response Grant

Ana Isabel Paraguay
Posted November 19, 2016 from Brazil
Expired on February 4, 2017

Urgent Action Fund-Africa is currently seeking applicants for its Rapid Response Grant with an aim to support women’s groups within Africa responding to an urgent situation and working towards the overall goal of promoting, advancing and protecting women’s human rights.

Rapid response grantmaking is the provision of immediate small grants within a short period of time to support interventions that are strategic and urgent which may not be part of planned programme activities and are not covered by long term funding.

Urgent Action Fund-Africa provides financial support for strategic interventions that take advantage of opportunities to advance women’s human rights. Such opportunities arise when an unexpected event – positive or negative – creates a situation in which rapid intervention can have a significant impact. Urgent Action Fund-Africa makes small grants intended to enable a short-term intervention in the course of a long-term strategy.

Funding Information:

UAF-Africa provides grants of up to a maximum USD 12,000.

Grant Categories:

- Defending the defenders

- Protecting women’s individual dignity, safety and autonomy;

-Justice and the rule of law ;

- Economic Justice;

- Natural Resource Governance & Climate Change.

Eligibility Criteria:

- UAF-Africa supports women’s rights organisations and activists in the entire African region.

- UAF-Africa does NOT fund individuals.

How to Apply:

Interested applicants can fill the online application form or can download the application form via given website.

Deadline: Ongoing.

Eligible Countries:

Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cabo Verde, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Republic of the Congo, Democratic Republic of the, Cote d’Ivorie, Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

For more information, please visit

Comments 0

Log in or register to post comments