Resource Exchange

Training and Mentorship

Xabaca Project: Open call for Proposals - International Network against Censorship on Arab Women’s Art

Ana Isabel Paraguay
Posted December 11, 2016 from Brazil
Expired on January 15, 2017

This project is hosted by the following organizations: NOVACT (Barcelona), Fundation Al Fanar (Madrid) and Jiwar Creation and Society (Barcelona) and is supported economically by the Catalan Agency for Development Cooperation.

Program Areas

To achieve this aim, the project will be structured into two different areas:

◾Artistic development: to enhance art and creativity as means to combat gender discrimination, censorship and social injustice. This will be achieved by an empowerment artistic process of four female Arab artists staying at Jiwar (Barcelona) for 1 month. Jiwar is an organization which offers stays for artists and has its own center.

◾Empowering activist aspects: to strengthen the capacities of the four female Arab artists to increase their role in social change. This will be done by participation in workshops and in an international support network which will begin when they start their artistic residency and will continue when they go back to their home countries.

Evaluation Criteria

◾Artists products must involve gender-issues

◾Artists must be linked to socials movements, social change campaigns and artistic networks

◾Artists that have been (or will likely be) suffered censorship by institutions

◾Artists must be available to participate in all the phases of the project.

Eligibility Criteria

◾Arab female artists living and working in Morocco, Tunisia, Lebanon and Palestine.

◾Open to all the disciplines (visual arts, literature, music, performance, etc.).

◾Residency from the 1st of March to the 31st of March 2017.

◾4 full scholarships covering 100% the cost of the residence (travel + accommodation), including 400 euros per diem and artist.

◾Artistic material covered.

◾Applications can be send in ENGLISH, FRENCH and ARABIC.

How to Apply

Applications must be submitted via email at the address given on the website.

Deadline: 15 January 2017.

Eligible Country: Morocco, Tunisia, Lebanon, Palestine.

For more information, please visit

Comments 0

Log in or register to post comments