About Me: I am 57 years old. I live on an intentional community in rural northern California. We raise sheep and sell the meat, wool and wool products. I have a shop in town, and sell organic cotton and Peruvian textiles. The Peruvian textiles are from the Center of Traditional Textiles in Cusco, a collective of weaving villages working to support and strengthen weaving traditions in the Andes. I make sheets and bedding with the organic cotton which mostly comes from Gujarat, India. I am also a weaver. I do Navajo style weaving, and am just learning backstrap weaving.

I have a BS in Geology and an MS in Water Resources. I have worked in the environmental and water sectors for many years. I have worked on legislation, cleanups, initiatives and education. For example I started the recycling and wildlife protection programs at the power company I worked for in Arizona. I also worked for the AZ Department of Environmental Quality and worked on groundwater quality protection. I now write and consult in writing grants for water, waste water and environmental conservation projects. My latest efforts are going toward facilitating cohousing projects. I think this will be an important new and economic way for people to enjoy growing old together.

As for international work, I did my thesis work on domestic water issues in the Mahaweli Resettlement and Irrigation Scheme in Sri Lanka. I also worked with Water For People to bring small, low-tech water projects to rural Mexico and Honduras. I investigated protecting forests in Central America as a way to get carbon credits for the power company. I think there is more to that (culture and people wise) than is being adequately considered.

I have most recently started back to school to study anthropology. I do believe that this is my true calling! I may try to obtain another degree in this field.

My Passions: anthropology, traveling, learning, donkeys, horses, goats, mountains, hiking, music

My Challenges: finding a project that I can really help and that is really helpful

My Vision for the Future: less consumerism, more sharing

My Areas of Expertise: water, waste water, grant writing

Comment on this Post

Comments

So encouraging to read about your continuous learning and working in several fields...I must also do more for myself to enrich my life. :) Thanks for sharing your story to motivate others in this world.

Welcome to Pulsewire!

I’m so glad and excited to see you in our community! Thanks so much for joining us, you are always free to post to your journal and add comments to others posts too, this is where we can freely contribute for the betterment of women and children all over that world. Please feel free to browse through our group section and post to the groups you decided to join.....On worldpulse everything is free...just be yourself.

Welcome again to our PulseWire Community and I look forward to seeing you more in here!

Regards, Sarvina from Cambodia VOF 2011 Correspondent

Wow! What a woman! I would love to hear more about your cohousing projects. As a 63 year old, with a 71 year old husband, I think of these things often. We have had many conversations with various friends about this very concept, but the devil is in the details.

With love from a Louisiana Cajun to a California World Pulse sister.

Continue being a blessing.

Yvette

Hey there Abby! Welcome to Worldpulse community! You are now part of a thriving network of grassroots women leaders and supporters from more than 190 countries. It’s so exciting having you with us, I am sure you will have a fabulous time with your new online friends as well as find this to be a very positive experience. I encourage you to take advantage of the numerous resources and features available through our vibrant online community.

Welcome again to our global community and I look forward to hearing more from you.

Peace!

Fatima