Recognizing brave female journalists

Jasmine Linabary
Posted January 18, 2012 from United States

When it comes to supporting women in journalism, one organization is making an impact by calling attention to women who go above and beyond especially under difficult circumstances or in dangerous situations.

That organization is the International Women's Media Foundation and it is currently seeking nominees for its annual awards.

Every year IWMF gives out three Courage in Journalism Awards as well as a Lifetime Achievement Award. Nominations can be made between now and March 2, 2012. While the Courage in Journalism Awards recognizes women who have pursued the profession in the face of oppression and obstacles, the Lifetime Achievement Award honors a woman who has been a pioneer and has paved the way for future female journalists.

According to a press release on the awards, nominees for the award can be working in any country as full-time, part-time or freelance journalists -- including as reporters, editors, photographers or producers.

Do you know a female journalist whose work and spirit deserves to be recognized this year? Find out more about the award and nomination process and learn about previous winners here:

Comments 0

Log in or register to post comments